In the News: Autism App

Oct 18, 2015

Everybody’s talking about a new app developed by a team co-led by iiD’s Helen Egger and Guillermo Sapiro. Created in partnership with Apple, the free iOS app aims to learn more about autism in young children living around the world last week. Check out what news organizations are saying:

About Parenting (site of the day): http://specialchildren.about.com/od/todaysnewsandviews/tp/Sites-of-the-Day-October-2015.htm

AppAdvice: http://appadvice.com/appnn/2015/10/researchkit-projects-study-autism-epilepsy-and-melanoma

Apple Press Release: http://www.apple.com/pr/library/2015/10/15Apple-Announces-New-ResearchKit-Studies-for-Autism-Epilepsy-Melanoma.html

AppleInsider: http://appleinsider.com/articles/15/10/15/apple-partners-with-hospitals-for-new-researchkit-studies-on-autism-epilepsy-melanoma

Bloomberg: http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2015-10-15/seizure-symptom-app-is-latest-apple-health-research-tool

Business Wire: http://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20151015005570/en/Apple-Announces-ResearchKit-Studies-Autism-Epilepsy-Melanoma#.Vh-vKRNVhBc

Buzzfeed: https://www.buzzfeednews.com/article/charliewarzel/apples-latest-researchkit-apps-are-taking-on-autism-and-epil

Cult of Mac: http://www.cultofmac.com/392305/new-researchkit-projects-will-help-tackle-autism-epilepsy-and-melanoma/

Daily Star: http://www.dailystar.co.uk/tech/news/470268/Apple-iPhone-ResearchKit-Skin-Cancer

Disability Scoop: http://www.disabilityscoop.com/2015/10/16/apple-autism-research/20881/

Duke Medicine YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DvL92T_SgBc

Duke Today: http://today.duke.edu/2015/10/autismbeyond

Engadget: http://www.engadget.com/2015/10/15/researchkit-apps-for-autism-and-epilepsy/

EurekAlert! (Duke Press Release): http://www.eurekalert.org/pub_releases/2015-10/du-dla101415.php

Fast Company: http://www.fastcompany.com/3052387/behind-the-brand/apple-expands-researchkit-to-autism-melanoma-epilepsy-more

Fortune: http://fortune.com/2015/10/15/apple-researchkit-new-clinical-trials/

iDownloadBlog: http://www.idownloadblog.com/2015/10/15/researchki-autism-epilepsy-melanoma/

iLounge: http://www.ilounge.com/index.php/news/comments/apple-announces-autism-epilepsy-and-melanoma-researchkit-studies

iMedicalApps: http://www.imedicalapps.com/2015/10/researchkit-apps-iphone-melanoma-seizure-autism/

MacCity (Italian): http://www.macitynet.it/apple-annuncia-nuovi-studi-researchkit-per-autismo-epilessia-e-melanoma/

MacNN: http://www.macnn.com/articles/15/10/15/early.detection.key.to.epilepsy.autism.melanoma.treatment.130863/

MacObserver: http://www.macobserver.com/tmo/article/apples-researchkit-used-for-autism-epilepsy-melanoma-studies

MacPlus (French): http://www.macplus.net/depeche-85466-nouvelles-etudes-researchkit-sur-l-autisme-l-epilepsie-et-le-melanome

MacRumors: http://www.macrumors.com/2015/10/15/apple-researchkit-autism-epilepsy-melanoma/

MacTrast: http://www.mactrast.com/2015/10/apple-announces-researchkit-studies-for-autism-epilepsy-melanoma/

MacWorld: http://www.macworld.com/article/2993838/ios/researchkit-at-6-months-100-000-people-now-using-medical-apps.html

Medical Xpress (Modified Duke Press Release): http://m.medicalxpress.com/news/2015-10-duke-autism-app-global.html

Medscape: http://www.medscape.com/viewarticle/852779

mHealth News: http://www.mhealthnews.com/news/new-apple-researchkit-studies-target-autism-melanoma-epilepsy

mHealth Watch: http://mhealthwatch.com/apple-unveils-promising-new-researchkit-studies-for-autism-epilepsy-and-melanoma-26341/

MobiHealthNews: http://mobihealthnews.com/47611/apple-researchkit-is-a-pipeline-for-future-diagnostic-medical-apps/

Modern Healthcare: http://www.modernhealthcare.com/article/20151015/NEWS/151019968

News Medical: http://www.news-medical.net/news/20151016/Researchers-introduce-free-iOS-app-to-learn-about-autism-in-young-children.aspx

NY Daily News: http://www.nydailynews.com/news/national/apple-researchkit-study-epilepsy-melanoma-autism-article-1.2398166

Reddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/apple/comments/3ounsu/apple_press_info_apple_announces_new_researchkit/

Silicon Republic: https://www.siliconrepublic.com/innovation/2015/10/15/apple-expands-researchkit-tracking-to-autism-epilepsy-and-melanoma

Smarter Analyst

Street Insider: http://www.streetinsider.com/Corporate+News/Apple+(AAPL)+Announces+New+Autism,+Epilepsy+and+Melanoma+Studies+for+ResearchKit/10974369.html

TechCrunch: http://techcrunch.com/2015/10/15/apple-expands-researchkit-to-autism-epilepsy-and-melanoma-studies/

TechRadar: http://www.techradar.com/news/phone-and-communications/mobile-phones/apple-shows-how-iphone-and-ipads-are-helping-scientists-battle-serious-diseases-1306845

The Mobile Doc: http://www.rickybloomfield.com/2015/10/researchkit-is-official-at-duke-autism.html

The Next Web: http://thenextweb.com/apple/2015/10/15/apples-latest-researchkit-studies-investigate-autism-epilepsy-and-melanoma/

The Times: http://www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/technology/article4587323.ece?shareToken=8a953c0eda6250051c8428c6509cf38d

Triangle Business Journal: http://www.bizjournals.com/triangle/news/2015/10/15/parents-duke-researchers-study-autism-iphone-app.html

Vox: http://www.vox.com/2015/10/15/9538821/iphone-app-autism

9to5 Mac: http://9to5mac.com/2015/10/15/apple-announces-new-researchkit-projects-studying-autism-epilepsy-and-melanoma/

Related Projects

Imagine a world where we understand how to detect mental health and developmental problems in early childhood so that we can intervene early in life and prevent future suffering and impairment. This is a challenge that can only be addressed by an interdisciplinary team of computational people with child psychiatrists...